We are pleased to announce the following confirmed speakers:

Professor Reuven Agami
Dr Mariann Bienz
Dr Mariann Bienz became a Senior Staff Scientist at the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology (LMB) in 1991 following a period as a Professor at the University of Zürich in Switzerland. Having acted as Head of the Cell Biology Division, she became Head of the PNAC Division in 2008, and in 2018 stepped down as Head of Division to become Deputy Director.

She studies the molecular mechanisms of Wnt signalling. This signalling pathway plays an important role in body patterning and cell fate determination during embryonic development but, if incorrectly activated, also serves as a major cancer pathway. Her work investigating the molecular basis of this pathway may reveal new therapeutic targets for treating cancer.
Her early work examined how developmental genes are transcribed in relation to the position of cells in the embryo. Here she pioneered the use of the fruit fly midgut as a model system. She thus discovered an inductive cascade including Wnt signals, which emanates from the visceral mesoderm and patterns the underlying endodermal cells.
Mariann has served, and continues to do so, on grant panels and committees of various International organisations, e.g. the Human Frontier Science Programme and the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), and on Scientific Advisory Boards in Spain and Switzerland. She is currently serving on the Council of the Royal Society and on several of its committees, including the Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship committee as its chair. She has received the Friedrich Miescher Prize of the Swiss Biochemical Society in 1990. She was elected as EMBO Member in 1989, a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2003 and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2006.
Dr Vishva Dixon
Professor Gerard Evan
Dr Christian Frezza
Dr. Christian Frezza is group leader at the MRC Cancer Unit, Cambridge Cancer Center, UK. He is mainly interested in the emerging connection between cancer and metabolism. Altered metabolism is not only required to support proliferation but in some instances, can be the leading cause of cancer. By using a combination of biochemistry, metabolomics, and systems biology he investigates the role of altered metabolism in cancer with the aim to understand how metabolic transformation regulates the process of tumorigenesis. His aim is to exploit these findings to establish novel therapeutic strategies and diagnostic tools for cancer.
Professor Kristian Helin
Kristian Helin is the Chair of the Cell Biology Program and the Director of the Center for Epigenetics Research at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He is also a Professor in Molecular Cancer Biology at BRIC, University of Copenhagen. The research in his lab is mainly focused on the role of chromatin associated proteins (epigenetics) in transcription, cell identity and cancer.
Professor Tony Kouzarides
Professor Thomas Look
Xin Lu
Professor Xin Lu became the Director of the London Branch of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in 2004 and in 2007 established LICR Oxford. She is the Co-Director of Cancer Research UK Oxford Centre and Lead for Oxford Biomedical Research Centre Cancer Theme. Professor Lu is an elected Member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists ((Hon), FRCPath), Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB) and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (FMedSci).
Major research interests: Tumour suppressor protein p53, ASPP family of proteins, tumour microenvironment
Professor Tak Mak
Dr Cristina Muñoz - Pinedo
Cristina Muñoz-Pinedo leads the Cell Death Regulation group at IDIBELL in Barcelona, Spain. Her lab explores nutrient deprivation at the cellular level to improve treatment for cancer and ischaemic diseases.
Dr Daniel Murphy
PhD from University of Virginia, 2000
Postdoc with Mark Israel, UCSF, 2000-2001
Postdoc with Gerard Evan, UCSF, 2002-2008
Junior Group Leader, Uni. Wuerzburg, 2008-2012
Senior Lecturer, Uni. Glasgow & the CRUK Beatson Institute, 2012-2018
Reader, Uni. Glasgow & the CRUK Beatson Institute, 2018-Present
Dr Kirsten Sadler Edepli
Professor Reuben Shaw
Professor Karen Vousden
Karen received her BSc and Ph.D. in Genetics from Queen Mary College at the University of London working with Lorna Casselton, followed by postdoctoral fellowships with Chris Marshall at the Institute of Cancer Research in London and Douglas Lowy at the National Cancer Institute in the USA. She then became head of the Human Papillomavirus group the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in London before moving back to the NCI in 1995, where she was Director of the Molecular Virology and Carcinogenesis Section at the ABL-Basic Research programme and then Chief of the Regulation of Cell Growth Laboratory. In 2002 she returned to the UK to become the Director of the CRUK Beatson Institute in Glasgow, moving back to London in 2016 to take up the role of Chief Scientist at CRUK and Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute.

Karen has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Academy of Medical Sciences, EMBO, the European Academy of Sciences, the American Association of Cancer Research, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. She has also received honorary DScs from the Universities of London and Strathclyde and is an honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (Glasgow). Karen’s awards include the Tenovus Gold Medal, the Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins Medal, the Royal Medal from the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Mike Price Gold Medal from the EACR. She was made a Commander of the British Empire for services to clinical science.
Professor Anne Willis
Professor Anne Willis graduated in 1984 with a degree in Biochemistry from the University of Kent and obtained a PhD in Biochemistry in 1987 from the University of London while working in the Imperial Cancer Research Fund laboratories (now CRUK) on DNA repair with Dr Tomas Lindahl. She then moved to Cambridge to work with Professor Richard Perham in the Department of Biochemistry, where she also held a Junior Research Fellowship and then a College Lectureship at Churchill College Cambridge. Anne was appointed to her first independent position in 1992 as a Lecturer in the Biochemistry Department at the University of Leicester, progressing to Reader in 2002 and Professor in 2004. In 2004 she was appointed Director of Cancer Research Nottingham and Chair of Cancer Cell Biology, where she was based in the School of Pharmacy. In 2010 Anne became Director of the MRC Toxicology Unit, which is currently based in Leicester. The Unit will become part of Cambridge University in March 2018 and will relocate in 2019-2020. Anne’s research in the Unit is directed towards understanding the role of post-transcriptional control in response to toxic injury with a focus on RNA-binding proteins, regulatory RNA motifs and therapeutic RNAs. In addition to her Unit programme, Anne holds a Wellcome Trust Investigator Award.